Cerulean Dream

Copy of Cerulean Dream

I am weak. Given over to impulse too often. Something gets in my head to do, and it is almost like a physical craving. I have, as Oscar Wilde said about temptation, just to give in.

Here’s the quote itself. “The only way to get rid of a temptation is to yield to it. Resist it and your soul grows sick with longing for the things it has forbidden to itself, with desire for what its monstrous laws have made monstrous and unlawful.”

Every May, here in Tulsa, there are two art festivals held at the same time in Downtown Tulsa. The oldest, called creatively, Mayfest, is juried, which means I usually avoid it for the other start-up one, which is a wide-open, more fun (in my opinion) event.

But, one fine sunny afternoon I wandered through Mayfest on my way to a client’s office and saw this painting. On the way back, I stopped and studied it and talked to the artist, Christopher Westfall See his work here and finally left to go back to work. A couple of hours later, I went back to look at it again. Back at work, it gnawed at me until I realized it would just not leave me in peace, and walked back and bought it.

It hangs about my desk. It is soothing, it helps me relax on days when things go crazy—which seems to be about every day lately.

I hope you like it too.

Leave a comment