My top three most watched movies,plus

I have been known to watch a movie three times back-to-back-to-back, so trying to figure out which ones I have watched the most is sort of difficult, but I have come up with three, even though trying to discern which is the most watched is impossible.

 

Monty Python and the Holy Grail This was released in 1975, and right after cable was strung to the pole in front of my parent’s house, one of my brothers figured how to climb the pole and string a line to the house; maybe thirty minutes later, HBO was also streaming right into the living room. It seemed every time I walked into the house (avoiding the dart thrown at my head from the dart set my mother erroneously decided the boys were grown-up enough to have), with this Barbarella (1968),  Kentucky Fried Movie (1977), or White Lightning ( See below)  was on. But, if it was KFM, the brother watching it would have dived at the set and turned it off the minute he heard the door open so as to avoid my parents catching him watch it. Python or Fonda or Burt, well, it was left on, so I saw hundred of bits and parts of Python before I ever saw the whole movie.  If I add all he bits and parts together, the sum probably places it in the top five.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rocky Horror Picture Show NO, I never dressed up, not really, but I did wear a leather “Eddie” jacket, which was one my son had from his punk-rock days.  It is just fun and the music is incredibly fun and catchy and, yes, it seemed a little “forbidden” for a while, which just made it more fun.  Three times in the theater, I think, and two live performances in Tulsa (which is where I wore the Eddie jacket.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

White Lightning This thing was released a few days before the start of my senior year in high school (1973), and watching it was just part of the whole thing of sneaking over or under or through the fence at the 22 Drive In and flashlighting friends and just have a good old time. The movie is fun because of the fast cars and Burt Reynolds always shined in  Hillbilly operas.  I don’t think I have seen this mess in over 35 years, so it is a pure memory.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Barbarella might be number 4, because of the situation noted in the Holy Grail write-up, and number 5 might be Major League.

Many who know me might guess It’s a Wonderful Life or Miracle on 34th Street, and those would be good guesses, but I really don’t think they rise to the top of the viewing list.  Possibly, but probably not.

4 thoughts on “My top three most watched movies,plus

  1. Ha! My husband and daughter’s favorite movie is Monty Python’s Holy Grail although my daughter would agrue that Life with Brian might be the best. I’m a fan of Barbarella!

Leave a Reply

